Wave Storm Stand Up Paddle Board Review

Wave Storm Stand Up Paddle Board

8.3

VERSATILITY

8.0/10

CONSTRUCTION

8.5/10

STABILITY

9.0/10

APPEARANCE

9.0/10

PERFORMANCE

7.0/10

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Durable
  • Looks Great
  • Very Stable
  • Comes With Everything You Need

Cons

  • Sluggish On Sharp Turns
  • Sometimes Hard To Find
  • Limited Color Options

I have the pleasure to write about this as I personally own one of these. Yes, we actually buy the items we review! New concept right! 

IMG_6871So like a lot of you, when I wanted a stand up paddle board to start with, I don’t want to pay $1,000.00. I would prefer something I can bump around and not worry too much about as I am learning. I was looking for something with a foam top (not fiberglass or epoxy) and comes with everything I need (paddle that extends, leash, even a board bag).
The Wave Storm stand up paddle board really answered all of these things. We do offer these on or paddle boards for sale page. The best part is that you can find them between $350 and $499 with everything mentioned above. That is a great price range to get started off. I do know that Costco carries this specific board where I live, so I have no problems if someone would prefer to go there to get theirs. If it saves you money, then by all means do that! For the price, it is a really great way to get into paddle boarding. Also, if a friend wants to borrow your board (I have a lot who ask) you don’t feel nervous or bad lending out this board.

IMG_6874As far as comfort and performance, I have a blast on my for a casual day at the lake. It has a great balance to it, soft top, but not too soft, and planes in small chop fairly well. I’m not sure I would recommend or take this on the ocean as it might not plane well enough to keep up with the currents and waves in the ocean. I had my best friends son ride on the front with me so we had it loaded down pretty well (190lbs and 40 lbs). It still moved along just fine as I believe the max recommended weight is about 275 lbs so we were still well within that.

It also isn’t too heavy or awkward to carry around and you can see in the picture that they give you the standard finger hold in the middle of the board which makes it nice. I didn’t take a picture of the board sock, but it did come with one.

Now because I surf as well, the leash felt normal to me. It is about 10′ long and comfortable around a bare leg. This is not always the case with leashes. I almost would have liked a longer leash as I can’t dive off the front of the board wearing it, but that is just a personal complaint.

Could you use this paddle board for yoga? It is wide enough and fairly stable compared to a lot of other boards, so I would say yes.

Manufacturer Specks On The Wave Storm:

The Wave Storm comes in a 9’6” and 10’6″ single-fin SUP. It is designed for greater maneuverability and is suitable for riders up to 275lbs. With an even distribution of surface area the Wave Storm has great stability & is easy to control. Great in both surf & flat water with an internal traction pad that adds optimal grip. It features an EPS core with 3 x Marine-ply stringers, textured deck for comfort, carry handle, and a resilient HDPE bottom skin.

Board thickness: 5 1/4″ 
Dry weight: 25 lbs.
Weight capacity: Up to 275 lbs. / 125kgs

FEATURES

  • Strong EPS (Expanded Polystyrene) core with 3 x Marine-ply stringers
  • Internal Traction Pad
  • Soft IXL deck & rails
  • High Density HDPE slick bottom skin
  • Water Barrier Skin (WBS)
  • Patented GFT™ (Graphic Film Technology) deck skin
  • High quality Polyurethane leash
  • Bolt thru fin system & components
  • Adjustable paddle included
  • Centered carry handle

It apparently is hit or miss as to weather it comes with the leash and board bag. This probably is why the price also varies a little depending on where you find one. I will add to this review as the board gets older and let you know how it holds up over the years.

The Pros And Cons

Pros:

  • Price Is Really Great For Getting Started!
  • Very Durable (takes some good beatings)
  • Easy To Paddle And Balance On
  • Lighter Than Some Boards I Tried
  • Comes With Everything (Mine came with the board, paddle, leash and board sock)
  • Can Handle A Lot Of Weight (I actually had 2 people on this at once)

Cons:

  • Lack Of Color Options (what if I didn’t like blue?)
  • Slower Than A Fiberglass Board (If you are after speed or want to race, this is not your board)
  • Board Sock ?! (what is the point, it is a pain to get off and on this monster)
  • Not Sure I Would Take This In The Ocean. (not extremely fast turning or speed so if you need to move fast in the ocean, it’s not going to happen with this.)

 Check The Current Best Price Here

Ending Thoughts

Honestly, how do you beat this price?! Even with the small downsides, this is great for a board to have around the house for those occasional times you want to get out and paddle board. Really great for people who are getting started as you don’t have to break the bank to do so. I could be biased as I own one, but I am doing my best to just give you the facts and my personal thoughts on it.

For more information you can also read our blog on Costco’s Paddle Boards.

Overall Review
  • Wave Storm Stand Up Paddle Board Review
4.8

Summary

If I have to step back and take a look at this, I would rate it high mainly because of the price. It is hard to beat because of that. It will serve most paddle boarders needs. The only way it could be better is if it were everything that it is, but epoxy, the same price, and maybe some other color options. That is asking a lot, but thats what it takes to get a 5.0. I may change this rating as the years go on and we find out how durable it is.

I would love to hear your feedback on this board!

If you own one of these as well, leave a comment and let us know your opinions and what you think about it. I might be biased as I own one, so I would like people to know what everyone thinks. You opinion is not only important to me, but others looking to purchase this board. Thank you.

Advertise with us
FOLLOW US ON
SHOP RELATED PRODUCTS
Featured NEWS

Paddle Board Yoga Classes

Wave Storm Stand Up Paddle Board 8.3 VERSATILITY 8.0/10 CONSTRUCTION 8.5/10 STABILITY 9.0/10 APPEARANCE 9.0/10 PERFORMANCE 7.0/10 Pros Affordable Durable Looks Great Very Stable Comes

Read More »
CATEGORIES